Follow

GiftWorks Upgrade and SmartList Customizations

When upgrading from GiftWorks 2011 or older versions, any Donor SmartLists that were customized using the Customize link, either while creating the SmartList or viewing the SmartList are returned to the default set of columns, sorting, grouping when viewing the SmartList for the first time.

Two important things to note:
1) This does NOT affect the SmartList criteria. This is all stil intact.
2) When upgrading from GiftWorks 2011 and older, this only affects Donor SmartLists, not Donation or Pledge SmartLists.

So, why does this happen?

When we upgrade GiftWorks, in most cases, we add additional columns to the different SmartList types (Donors, Donations or Pledges). As a development team, we have the option to choose whether we increment the version number for each type of SmartList.

If we increment the version number:
1) All SmartList customization are reset to the defaults when the SmartList is used for the first time
2) All the new columns that have been added for the upgrade are available when clicking the Customize link

If we do NOT increment the version number:
1) The SmarList customizations are NOT automatically reset to the defaults
2) None of the new columns that have been added for the upgrade are available until the Reset button is clicked for a SmartList

So, there are some trade-offs.

In previous releases, we have often chosen to increment the version number for modified SmartLists. In some of the more recent releases, we have chosen to NOT increment the version number in many cases.

We have received varied feedback and questions from customers in the past after an upgrade - some who ask why they don't see the new columns for a SmartList when we choose not to increment the version number, others who ask why their customizations have been reset.

For GiftWorks 2012 and newer versions, we made the decision to increment the version number of the Donor SmartLists, primarily because of the many new columns for Soft-Credit giving history. The advantage of this is these columns are available for any of your SmartLists, regardless if you have customized them. Unfortunately, this means all of your Customizations for your Donor SmartLists are reset after you upgrade.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk